HomeЛюди и блогиRelated VideosMore From: Stoney Ridge Farmer

Stihl Chainsaws...are they the best? MS311 Review and farm demonstration

2085 ratings | 99806 views
Well...the jury is out...Stihl Chainsaws...are they the best..you tell me! Today we'll review and do a farm demonstration of the MS311 Chainsaw. I'll tell ya what I think and show ya how hard it works...this will be video #1 of multiple chainsaw and wood cutting video series I'll be doing over the next month or so! It's Firewood season!!! WOOOO!!! GET YOUR STONEY RIDGE FARMER BRANDED SHIRTS HERE: https://www.bonfire.com/store/stoney-ridge-farmer-apparel/ Facebook: facebook.com/stoneyridgefarmer/ Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/stoneyridgefarmer/ CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO OUR FARM: http://www.youtube.com/stoneyridgefarmer?sub_confirmation=1 WEBSITE FOR PRODUCTS WE TRUST ON OUR FARM: Meyer Hatchery: http://meyerhatchery.com/?aid=178 Electric Fence From Premier: https://www.premier1supplies.com/?utm_source=stoneyridgefarmer&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=blogpost EVERYTHING ATTACHMENTS: https://www.everythingattachments.com/ LOOKING FOR SOMETHING WE USED A VLOG???? STONEY RIDGE FARMER AMAZON STORE: (TRUSTED PRODUCTS) https://www.amazon.com/shop/stoneyridgefarmer?ref=ac_inf_hm_vp LINKS FOR PRODUCTS IN THIS VIDEO: (SOMETHING MISSING? LEAVE A COMMENT!!) Best Watch I've ever owned: http://amzn.to/2H8mY1Z Oakley Gas Can Sunglasses: http://amzn.to/2FO1Dhp DJI Mavic PRO Drone: http://amzn.to/2yU7nzd Sony 4k Handycam: http://amzn.to/2nnctP1 Go PRo Hero 4 (4k video): https://amzn.to/2ut8IPQ STONEY RIDGE FARMERS FAVORITE BOOKS: How to win friends and influence people: http://amzn.to/2FoFtCV THE WOODLAND HOMESTEAD: (Wranglerstar) https://amzn.to/2IoVoCC PASTURED POULTRY FOR PROFITS: https://amzn.to/2rS6mGv SALAD BAR BEEF: https://amzn.to/2IpQIwj FOLKS THIS AINT NORMAL (JOEL SALATIN) https://amzn.to/2IxAnBy MINI FARMING (SELF SUFFICIENCY ON 1/4 ACRE): https://amzn.to/2L6GT3Y RICH DAD--POOR DAD: WHAT THE RICH TEACH THEIR KIDS ABOUT MONEY: https://amzn.to/2Gt0yb1 OTHER COOL LINKS FOR YA:
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (429)
Keeping It Dutch (2 months ago)
Best shirt in your closet hands down!! Thanks brother, great video. Man you have your hands full from that hurricane...i love my stihl..
+Farmall Fanatic Yes my daughter and I wanted matching shirts and seeing we don't have them for our channel we thought we would support another Marine.
Farmall Fanatic (6 days ago)
You got one of them teeshirts? 🤪
That is is nice shirt. I have a blue one. My daughter has a lite blue one.
Brian Eastman (2 months ago)
+Keeping It Dutch,STIHL makes wonderful chainsaws.
Brian Eastman (2 months ago)
I have a STIHL MS 201t top handle chainsaw, keep up the good work man.
Geni Bunsie (7 days ago)
Awesome saw bro...
Madmoody21 (11 days ago)
I don't know if it has a small engine and is made by Shindawa I would even sight unseen put it in the running for the best.
Todd Winter (12 days ago)
311 is homowner saw.. Spend little more get a 461magnum..it'll outlast and outcut that 311 many times over.. 311 is plastic. 461 is magnesium.. God be with you,peace
Technie87' (12 days ago)
Your 6"5? More like you need a MS 880 with a 50' bar
Lass-in Angeles (15 days ago)
I need a guy like you, heh, heh! I have too much chopping to do on my trees and not enough muscle. Really appreciated this video, all the tips in comments as well, and the comparison. These days unbiased, honest reviews are so rare. Many thanks!! Would the smaller, lighter Stihl chain saws work as well? Please could you do a chainsaw maintenance video?
Simon Hopper (15 days ago)
Im ready for this comparison as i have a ms 290 but looking for something a bit bigger for the old big trees i have to cut up. So i have been looking at the ms 391 and husqvarna 465 rancher. So a comparison of a ms311 and 460 rancher might be a good comparison to compare to my needs. (Dont think i have ever used compare so much....lol)
Larry Bulthouse (17 days ago)
Chainsaws have chains not blades
WildeFox (17 days ago)
That seems like a great saw, I own both Husqvarna and Stihl products, both brands make great products. I know it's the improper way but I start my chainsaws the way you do lol.
Stoney Ridge Farmer (17 days ago)
Yeppers....man..lots of folks fussing at me for starting a saw that way.....I really never started a saw the "right way" in my life before I started making youtube vids.....now if I don't....ol safety Sam comes out in every video..lol it's pretty funny....man when your 6'5" it's hard to get down there to pull that cord !! Bhahhaha
Seamus Warren (19 days ago)
Hope someone can make something out of the oak. 👍🏼🤪 Edit: Strong timber! A bloke did a convincing TED talk about using timber instead of steel for high rise buildings.
Ken Gray (21 days ago)
Would have enjoyed the 362 more.
Jean AArouet (24 days ago)
Ever heard about cleanliness? Glad you mentioned the correct starting procedure as opposed to the momentum method. Glad to see you stopped the saw before climbing the log...however you didn't restart it the way you said safe. Right on the 'spike' as you call it. or dogs...trouble is they are so sharp an inexperienced person can injure themselves on the greater projection especially when changing chain. You don't use the dogs in your early demo, anyway. I think you should get a lung X-Ray ...you may have a lung disorder from dusts....I'm being serious.. I don't like the way you dropped the 'widow-maker'...dangerous as they can spin off and "get" the operator. I'd "V" underneath and not as deeply as your second (reconsidered) cut.....then work from the top. Why?.....it's a clearer drop as the tree is not working against itself as with a single straight cut and you can control from the top.
Stoney Ridge Farmer (24 days ago)
You're comment should be titled: Thanks for the video Josh...I enjoyed it...now let me pick you into little pieces and throw you in a toilet bowl full of urine and feces.....stir ya around a little bit and let it sit there....thanks for your wonderful comment.....I'm sure I have a lung disorder from laughing so hard at your comment
David Landsteiner (26 days ago)
You can get a 16,18,20, or 25 inch bar for a Stihl ms311.
darren schulz (26 days ago)
There's no better saw than a Stihl ms261 Pro saw..... 10 lb 4.5 horsepower runs a 20 inch bar with a skip chain at 14000 RPMs.... SICK,!!
MrMrjones333 (30 days ago)
You could run that wood up to me if you want😏
MrMrjones333 (30 days ago)
+Stoney Ridge Farmer you any where near Jersey? Lol
Stoney Ridge Farmer (30 days ago)
Man...I have so many trees down on the farm!! I can't give them away around here
david laporte (1 month ago)
stihl is overrated. husky/jonsereds is better for sure. stihl under calibrates their oiler system. their air filtration sucks too. too much crap makes it to the filter
Crown Arboriculture (1 month ago)
It’s pronounced “STEEL”!!!!!!!!
Stoney Ridge Farmer (1 month ago)
Thanks for the grammar correction...I know and I still kept saying it wrong....look down in the comments...folks also picked apart my grammar on husqvarna.....lol
Malachie Kunze (1 month ago)
When are you going to cut up that tree stump and Bloated up on the dump truck
Malachie Kunze (1 month ago)
Tree stump the oak tree stump into the dump truck
raffick mohammed (1 month ago)
I love my ms180 "14 bar stihl saw, work good cut good.
xyzrx (1 month ago)
This is..this is.. this is funny
Kip Russell (1 month ago)
Has anyone done any mods to there 311 I did the muffler and took they stops out but really don't like a 20 in bar 3/8 .63 but will RIP with a 18 in
Lord Anakin (1 month ago)
Great saw ,i own Stihl 231 ,here in Italy 311 cost 740€
1slimthugga (1 month ago)
Not a blade its a chain
michel bolduc (1 month ago)
i"m not one to give a 6 foot 5 inches dude a hard time lol but u should get a husqvarna out of your truck box man , nice homelite xl stihl outlives husky every time stihl is the number one seller in the world , but in north america it's about 50/50 nice video
Stoney Ridge Farmer (1 month ago)
lol
Maxwell Smart (1 month ago)
Don't forget your grapple. As a third hand, carrying and stacking 8+ footers to the 'processing' area (where you can also lay tarp to save sawdust). BTW - Have you considered a used 'full size' drum chipper so you can quit burning aall that mulch/chips? I keep going back and forth, no such thing as too much wood chips. :-)
Mulligan Repairs (1 month ago)
Do u know what a ms 2600
kyle Griffiths (1 month ago)
Then caps on the saw suck. I’d much rather screw on caps
Riley K (1 month ago)
Are you supposed to have that much slack on the chain or do you loosen it for storage?
Jim Yost (1 month ago)
I have a friend who owns a tree service and he said Stihls outlast Huskies because the Huskies have more RPMs. I have another friend who owns a tree service and he swears by Stihl saws. I've heard that Jonsered saws are as dependable as Stihl saws. I wonder if it's true.
Scott Brough (1 month ago)
The unsafe way to start your saw is the manliest way to start it.  I want a Stihl now.
Gerald Legault (1 month ago)
Stihl Has been the only power equipment brand out there that has ever given me trouble. Can't stand up to abuse, hard to work on, ridiculous pricing and parts prices. The 3 songs I readily trust, Echo, Dolkita, Husqvarna. 3 of the easiest brand of saws to work on :) The 311 was a boat anchor if I've ever seen one
Nomadic Dullard (1 month ago)
I had a Stihl 210(?) homeowner type saw. That was a great little saw! For bigger stuff I bought a 290 Farm Boss and thought it was a bit of a dog. Both were stolen and so I started the replacement process. I bought a Stihl 251as a replacement for the small saw. I hate that saw just for the starting issues it always seems to have since first month of ownership. For bigger stuff I got a Makita/Dolmar 6421. That one is a beast.
Anton Noles (2 months ago)
Hi guys, I'me an avid watcher of Stihl Reviews and Videos, I personally have 2, an MS461 & an MS880, with an eray of Bars, mainly a 25" for the 461 and from a 32 up to a 48 for the 880. Cutting some big Redum and various hardwoods, with both of these saws being in the "Magnum" range they are just outstanding. I give them every opportunity with freshly sharpened Stihl Full Chisel chains. It's just coming into summer here in Australia now and after seeing a nasty brown snake last week, I have packed up until next season. Keep up the good work everyone and stay safe.
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
Watch my husky v/s stihl...you might not like the results...i was surprised
Curtis Durfee (2 months ago)
I start my saw like that
Aric Lange (2 months ago)
Dog’s not spikes
Frank Towles (2 months ago)
You are correct about not tight. My MS251 single bolt design stripped out right as the warrenty expired. If I ever get it back from the shop, I'll not tighten very much. It was a cutting beast while operational. I see your MS311 has two bolts for chain tightening. Looks like a real winner there on that one.
Rui Almeida (2 months ago)
i start all my saws the improper way too
Dan Latta (2 months ago)
Really like my Stihl chainsaw when it decides to start. Horrible experience just trying to get it to start and it's brand new.
Raleighs Cigarettes (2 months ago)
Ever try the Motomix from Stihl?
ΚΩΣΤΑΣ never (2 months ago)
a no !!!!!!!!!!!
446hemi (2 months ago)
I trust after you ran the husky you had to edit the video because the husky blew the stihl out of the contest
446hemi (2 months ago)
+Stoney Ridge Farmer Bullshit...i am a logger and i have used both...the husky blows the stihl out of the water in ALL aspects
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
Review and comparison coming soon!! STIHL is more powerful for sure
Jacob Savage (2 months ago)
What about if I wana chop people up in Texas ?
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
Nope this saw won't work for chopping...
Tom Reed (2 months ago)
How come you never tightened up the back nut
puluq emil (2 months ago)
nice tool
vburke1 (2 months ago)
I just dropped a dozen trees on the property with a 25 ear old Stihl 025, fresh bar, fresh chain, fresh gas after sitting on the shelf 4-5 years, and I'm off and running :)
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
Nice!!
James Lanni (2 months ago)
Try the stihl 360 or 460 the 311 is a toy
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
Oh yea....cool...it'll get the job done brotha....dropping more than $500 on a saw seems expensive to me....unless I did it for a living
LCHLLO2008 (2 months ago)
i use Stihl hedgecutters ,strimmers and blowers ,but i prefer Husky saws .neither companies have let me down.I wouldn't use any other companies .
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
lol broke this Stihl today...was my fault though
gunnar schutz (2 months ago)
If that impresses you and ya cut large wood get a 461 28 inch sugahara bar. You'll like that.
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
Yep that would be alot of saw for sure!
Texas Edge (2 months ago)
311 is a plastic clamshell. Never trust a review where the guy calls the bar and chain a blade. LOL. Echo timber wolf is way better saw than a 311.
Texas Edge (2 months ago)
+Stoney Ridge Farmer I run a 390xp. You need more than a plastic saw.
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
LOL....this isn't a chainsaw competitition.....yet! Coming soon I'll do a comparison vid....it's been a great saw so far I've got about 10 hours behind it....just checked out your channel....the first thing you spoke about was trolling on youtube...still watching..ur a pretty big dude...look like you need a bigger saw than this STIHL...need like a honda 650 behind them arms WOOOOO!!!
1970 olds442 (2 months ago)
The blade is still sharp? Chainsaws do not have blades on them they have chain on them. Skill saw has a blade not a chainsaw. Maybe you should call it a bladesaw instead of chainsaw
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
Arguably ...every chain is covered with tiny blades......thanks for taking the time to try and insult my intelligence...it helps I swear...best thing about doing a chainsaw video is making a slip of the tongue and watching the comments roll in...keeps the momentum up on a video...youtube likes those comments...so do I .....hmm kinda makes ya wonder....did I make a mistake? Or set you up ? Hmmmm....
Kolila Gephart (2 months ago)
Between stihl  and husky  its about your dealer. If your gonna hand it down, toss-up. If  your doing a job  and then selling, the stihl  has a better resale.
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
I'm gonna run it till it falls apart...
ed christman (2 months ago)
i picked up a stihl ms 290 at a yard sale last weekend for 30$ starter rope was broke & guy said it was given to him like that & had no idea if it would run or not ! took it home fixed rope no workie gailded piston & cylinder. ordered a cylinder kit for 32$ on amazon & it ran but stil had issued . had a broken adjustment screw in carb . ordered a new carb for 14.99 amazon & runs like a dream less than 90$ in it & this model sells used on ebay for 200 -450$ but ill be putting this on to work my self !
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
Nice!
John Casey (2 months ago)
I have had the "029" Stihl Chainsaw for 23 years here on the farm, and it still runs like new. Best tool ever.
Gregory Cumming (2 months ago)
I hate stihl chainsaws. I have owned many, and will never buy another. The oil and fuel caps suck, and the vibration eliminator features of their equipment are completely overdun. Poor design all the way around. Husqvarna is far better
Gregory Cumming (2 months ago)
+Stoney Ridge Farmer I would also check the Stihl bar oiling system. If you check the internet, many people are unhappy with it. Even with it adjusted to maximum flo, the bar will become hot. Maybe they have overcome this problem, but all of my stihl saws suffered from it. Good luck
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
Well Gregory....we're gonna put brand new chains on both of these and do a side by side comparison. I'm pretty happy with both saws myself.....I do find that the Husky fuel and bar oil caps are sometimes tough to unscrew ..but the Stihl sprays ya with gas...so let's put them side by side and see how these farm saws do!
Nvr Dwn (2 months ago)
Chainsaws have blades?
Nvr Dwn (2 months ago)
+Stoney Ridge Farmer I'm only giving you a hard time.
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
I think you know what I meant right? This aint scripted brotha...just a dude with his chainsaw....sometimes words can get a little twisted
Tim Gauthier (2 months ago)
ok I have a stihl 60cc now I love it but the best chain saw that I have used same size john c red the best try it
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
My neighbor uses the "John -C-Red" and it's an awesome saw
TIMBER WOLF (2 months ago)
Thts the propper way to start a saw I start my ms660 like tht and no i dnt use the decomp valve either and i think both brands are decent but stihl is top notch in my book
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
660 Expensive saw
declan murphy (2 months ago)
The sthil your testing there has a very major fault !!! The oil tank gets busted open very easily when a piece of brush swings around off the blade. I know this from experience...
m cole (2 months ago)
I love my "steel" saws as well .
Jamison Timberfalling (2 months ago)
Good point about having more than one saw. Everyone gets their saw pinched from time to time. It's funny how many people get hung up on certain brands of saws. It's more important to get the right saw for the job, and maintain it properly. I always recommend purchasing the professional grade saws. For that size Stihl, the 261 with a 20" bar would be a good choice.
evilknievellives (2 months ago)
Pre emissions husky 362xp the best. Also watch the vid where they dump saw dust on a Stihl and husky
Ryan Schaff (2 months ago)
The 311 is weak. I use chainsaws for hrs every day and went through 3 ms311s and they truly don't last
jt bass gambler (2 months ago)
Husquvarna is the BOSS!!!
jt bass gambler (2 months ago)
Garbage i own third time it breaks on me not again sthil is garbage👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎 i threw mine in the trash 🗑
JGBLADES (2 months ago)
First pull up on your bar then tighten until the chain touches the bar. Not tighten then pull up.
JGBLADES (2 months ago)
Nuts not bolts. Bumper spike not bump spike.
John Clarke (2 months ago)
I have tried them all and Stihl saws are the best. I do not have any husqvarna saws, anymore because I replaced them with Stihl saws and I have a stable full of them from 180s' to 660's and those in between including two Mtronic s. My favorite is my ms 271, hands down for anything. For little stuff I grab my ms 241CM. Stihl saws start by the numbers - cold start, warm start, run and if you get out of sequence you will have a he'll of a time starting a Stihl saw. With all that safety gear on are you also wearing a Condom?
Mark DeVille (2 months ago)
please dont call it a blade, its a bar with a chain......
Chris Breidenbaugh (2 months ago)
I only use Stihl. 261 and 661. Always start, run like no bodies bitness.
Simao W (2 months ago)
"Blade" .......... It's a chain !
v3124 (11 days ago)
Wut? It is a chain. It's like you said earlier, the chain runs around the bar. I can't think of any part of a chainsaw called a blade though.
Andrew M (11 days ago)
v3124 well then why is this guy calling it a chain lol
v3124 (11 days ago)
It's a bar.
Andrew M (11 days ago)
v3124 what is it then lol
v3124 (11 days ago)
+Andrew M well, no. No, it's not.
SINISTER SPAWN (2 months ago)
Gotta get me one of those bad boys! I currently have a craftsman 42cc 16" saw I love it the saw definitely gets the job done! This video is great! *SUBSCRIBED*
Brian Curwick (2 months ago)
I'm not sure I am going to listing to anyone yacking about anything at all, let alone STIHL Chain Saws if that person has Chain Saw which has the chain as loose as your's is!!! I sure hope the store in Idaho or STIHL has not provided this saw for you to merely tear it up. Not only is one of the greatest assets of a YouTube Content Createor is that they have knowledge of the products they are reviewing, ESPICALLY Maintenance and Repair in addition to The Basic Operation. If you can not even adjust the Chain, how can we trust you to Sharpen and ensure the Chain is being Lubricated? BTW... YOU LOOSENED AND SECURED NUTS NOT BOLTS!!! Maybe if you knew how to use their products properly, they would allow you to evaluate their products... AND I suppose you will burn up all that slash that would serve your land much better in the form of wood chips/mulch?
msears101 (2 months ago)
ummm you are pronouncing Stihl incorrectly. It is like "steel" https://www.stihlusa.com/faq/general/
S Squared (2 months ago)
Any of the top tier saws are good. I've run Echo's Huskys and Stihls along with junk home owner saws like home light and the small $100 Poulan's. I tend to like the Echos for small trim saws 10-14 inch rang then the Huskys for the meet and potatoes cutting 16-28 or so then the big saws the Stilhs are hard to beat. The all have their place. The cheep saws or ok for some one that only needs a saw a few times a year but if you are doing anything more then that get a better saw from a dealer not a box store. Awesome review and you put it through the ringer with that oak
Concrete K-9 (2 months ago)
I’m not too familiar with saws. What’s the purpose of rotating the bar? Is it purely cosmetic or does it prolong the life of it?
Mark Jones (2 months ago)
I don't like the one I have
Jason Peaslee (2 months ago)
I will keep running Husqvarna saws they have served me well over the years.
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
We gonna do a comparison video soon!
Logan Shiffler (2 months ago)
If you think a 311 rips try running a ported 362cm with a perfectly sharp chain. With the depth gauges on the chain set just right to throw some monster chips, yea buddy!
Bobby Allen (1 month ago)
Logan Shiffler try a 661cm a true beast
hedron shanon (2 months ago)
Guess this dude was afraid to try the husky so that we see its performance.....Still ain't jack just like you guys I defended it when I knew no better....
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
"This dude" is me..and I have 2 huskys and 2 stihl...thanks
John Myers (2 months ago)
I’m a STIHL guy been one for ever. I have 4 of em. From the MS250 to the 660 MAG. Which is my “go to saw.” May I suggest a Full chisel full skip chain. Cuts much faster and half as many teeth to sharpen. With my 660 my chain will pull a 2.5” chip. Awesome power and cut. Nice video
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
I've heard about the Skip chain....nothing but good things
arborcidal maniac (2 months ago)
a 460 rancher is a homeowners pos their junk as well.
arborcidal maniac (2 months ago)
it's gonna need a carburetor within a year.
arborcidal maniac (2 months ago)
those 311/391 models are constantly in my shop and usually their toast after a year. Junk!!!!!
Aaron Jarvenpa (2 months ago)
You could all most have needed a bigger saw for the big oak
successfulIdiot (2 months ago)
being that there was never an 031. Ive always consider the 311 a bastard saw with the 270. but hey landscapers will buy em... after the late 2000's era stihl, its husqvarna now for me.
James Frost (2 months ago)
Between Stihl and Husky, it is hard to make a bad choice.
Kenneth 03 (2 months ago)
I have a brand new ms250 and love it been using it for a couple weeks and works great. My opinion Husqvarna sucks worst brand ever
Denny's Country Life (2 months ago)
Looks like a great saw man! As a guy with less trees and property I opted for the MS250, and it's been a heck of a saw for me! The starting process is extremely simple, I have a hard time grasping why people have a rough time with it! Lol
Mountain Crest Farm (2 months ago)
Why did you buy way out there...no Stihl dealers around you? I like to keep my money as local as possible. I find when I take care of local businesses they take care of me when needed. As for the fuel spewing...I've not had that problem and I've been running Stihls for over a decade. Right now I have an MS311...the predecessor to your new 311...that I bought in 2009 and that is still running great with one minor repair in 9 years that I did myself for $12 in parts in less than 15 minutes and a 193T I just bought 2 months ago. I love Stihls.
Nee Kniggit (2 months ago)
I just got the Pro grade MS 661 with a 36 inch bar and I absolutely love it. Wish I had gotten this a longtime ago.
Nee Kniggit (2 months ago)
Lot's of firewood for this winter.
Tucker Buzzell (2 months ago)
You need to get rid of that junk and stay with Husqvarna
Tucker Buzzell (2 months ago)
+Stoney Ridge Farmer cool thanks that would be sweet
Stoney Ridge Farmer (2 months ago)
yep..proof is in the pudding here brotha..we'll do a comparison video soon...I have 2 huskys and 2 stihl
Duje Amizic (2 months ago)
woow third pull not bad
G Froese (2 months ago)
Okay , but I'll stick with my old Husky
Rusty Shackelford (2 months ago)
So is it...still...or...steal
Rusty Shackelford (2 months ago)
Cool, I'm sure Stihl makes the best chainsaws out there. But I just couldn't justify the price, a comparable size Stihl is going to be 3x the cost of a Husqvarna. If they actually last three times longer well then it makes sense.. But for a just weekend firewood cutter I can't put down $1500 on a chainsaw. FWI my husky 455 seems to cut about the same as that Stihl with a new chain. But I've also never used a Stihl so what do I know.
Rusty Shackelford (2 months ago)
That's interesting, thanks. That saw does appear to be about $450, idk why I had the impression Stihl saws were usually over a grand.
Nathan Craig (2 months ago)
Rusty Shackelford $1500 gets you a pro grade 661 stihl. A comparable saw to your 455 to stihl is a 291 which is around $400
Patrick Barnes (2 months ago)
They are called DOGS!! They tree is rotten that’s y
Patrick Barnes (2 months ago)
This is a powerful machine and I’m impressed???? Thought he has not started or used it yet ?? So how would he know and be impressed already???
Benjamin Turner (2 months ago)
Stihls are no doubt good machines. I have both Stihl equipment and Husqvarna. I will honestly say though, that for the most part I enjoy running my Husqy stuff more. I'm a Husqvarna fan for sure. I can't make a truly fair comparison as my two Husqvarna saws are bigger and higher end than my smaller stihl saw. The Stihl runs great and has good power for a small saw but it seems to have major issues starting after sitting a few months. Both my Husqvarnas always start exactly the same, the way they're supposed to from the factory every time, while the stihl gives me fits of pulling before it goes. All use same non-ethanol fuel, same stihl oil, and sit in the same climate controlled spot. Love all my saws...but I'll be honest in saying if I needed to take one saw to rely on...it would be an orange one. I would like to try one of Stihls larger pro models though to get a full taste of their equipment. Those MS311 are cool saws! I'd like to try one.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.